Earthquake Risk Mitigation Committee Report

February 18, 2000

Chairman: Craig dePolo

Committee: Jim Regan, Wayne Carlson, Greg Moss, Gary Norris, Greg Flanigan

- Wrote a 29 page Nevada Earthquake Risk Mitigation Plan for submittal to the Nevada Division of Emergency Management, the Nevada Earthquake Safety Council, and the Federal Emergency Management Agency.  A presentation will be made at the February 18 meeting.

- The unreinforced masonry building issue was looked into and will be summarized at a presentation at the February 18 meeting.

- Three awards are proposed for the year 2000:

                                    Nevada Department of Transportation

                                    Keith Rogers of the Las Vegas Review Journal

                                    Cory Farley of the Reno Gazette-Journal

- Continued work on “Living with Earthquakes in Nevada.”

- New chairman for the Earthquake Risk Mitigation Committee, Wayne Carlson.