Staff Directory

Director's Office/Administration

James E. Faulds, Director and State Geologist,, 775-682-6650
Jessica Corey, Business and Grants Manager,, 775-682-8762
Joel Ponte, Administrative Assistant,, 775-682-8746


Great Basin Science Sample and Records Library

Publication Sales and Information, 775-682-8766
If you need an immediate response, please call.

Rachel Micander, Geologic Information Specialist,, 775-682-8767
Emily O'Dean, Geoscience Data Manager and GBSSRL Manager,, 775-682-9780
Bret Pecoraro, Development Technician,, 775-682-8775
Charlotte Stock, Sales Manager,, 775-682-8766
Gabriela Villar, Administrative Assistant,, 775-682-8766


Economic Geology, Geologic Mapping, and Geologic Framework

Mike Darin, Assistant Professor-Structural Geologist,, 775-682-8751
James E. Faulds
, Professor,, 775-682-6650
Christopher D. Henry, Research Geologist Emeritus,, 775-682-8753
Carolina Muñoz-Saez, Assistant Professor-Economic Geologist,, 775-682-7844
John Muntean, Associate Professor-Research Economic Geologist,,775-682-8748
Andrew Zuza, Associate Professor-Structural Geologist,, 775-784-1446


Geologic Hazards and Engineering Geology

Seth Dee, Geologic Mapping Program Manager,, 775-682-7704
Craig M. dePolo, Research Geologist,, 775-682-8770
Will Junkin, Geologic Mapping Specialist,, 775-784-6691
Rich Koehler, Associate Professor,, 775-682-8763


Nevada Geodetic Laboratory

Geoffrey Blewitt, Research Professor,, 775-682-8778
William C. Hammond, Research Professor,, 775-784-6436
Corné W. Kreemer, Research Professor,, 775-682-8780


Great Basin Center for Geothermal Energy

Bridget Ayling, Director, Associate Professor,, 775-682-8768
Eli Mlawsky, GBCGE Geoscience Data Manager,, 775-682-9010
Anieri Morales Rivera, Geothermal Research Scientist,, 775-682-8149
Emmanuel Olvera, Postdoctoral Scholar,, 775-682-9011
Colleen Ulibarri, Administrative Assistant,, 775-682-8855


Cartography, GIS, Web, and Publication Support

Jennifer Vlcan, Cartographic/GIS Manager,, 775-682-8759
Christina Clack, Graphic Designer,, 775-682-6346
Irene Edgerton, Cartographer/GIS Specialist,, 775-682-6338
Andrew Hauck, GIS Analyst,, 775-784-6691
Ryan Smith, GIS Analyst,, 775-682-8207


Graduate Students

Advised by Bridget Ayling
Kurt Kraal, Graduate Student, MS,
Nicole Wagoner, Graduate Student, PhD

Advised by Michael Darin
Rachel Micander, Graduate Student, MS,
Iza Ogilvie, Graduate Student,

Advised by Jim Faulds
Rachel Micander, Graduate Student, MS,
Noah Williams, Graduate Student,

Advised by Bill Hammond
Justine Overacker, Graduate Student, PhD,
Aren Crandall-Bear, Graduate Student, PhD,

Advised by Corné Kreemer
Zachary Young, Graduate Student, PhD,
Nina Miller, Graduate Student, PhD,

Advised by Carolina Muñoz-Saez
Annika Gonzales, Graduate Student, MS,
Lauren Sankovitch, Graduate Student, MS,

Advised by John Muntean
Nick Hillemeyer, Graduate Student, MS,
Sara Castro Holden, Graduate Student
Daniel Chafetz, Graduate Student
Elizabeth Hollingsworth, Graduate Student, PhD,
Alexander Holmwood, Graduate Student, MS
Sean Ingersoll, Graduate Student, MS
Neil Mankins, Graduate Student
Grant McKnight, Graduate Student, MS
Steven O'Connell, Graduate Student
Atticus Proctor, Graduate Student, MS
Sarah Shapley, Graduate Student, MS
Christian Thomas, Graduate Student, MS

Advised by Andrew Zuza
Wes Johns, Graduate Student, MS,
Drew Levy, Graduate Student, PhD,
Dominik Vlaha, Graduate Student, MS,


Adjunct and Emeritus Faculty

Adjunct Faculty:
Mark Coolbaugh, Adjunct Research Assistant Professor,, 775-337-1545

Emeritus Faculty:
John W. Bell, Professor Emeritus,
Stephen B. Castor
, Research Geologist Emeritus,, 775-682-8766
Larry J. Garside, Research Geologist Emeritus,, 775-784-6693
Liang-Chi Hsu, Research Mineralogist Emeritus,
Daphne D. LaPointe, Research Geologist Emeritus,, 775-682-8772
Paul Lechler, Chief Geochemist Emeritus,
Jonathan G. Price, State Geologist Emeritus,, 775-682-8766
Alan R. Ramelli, Research Geologist Emeritus,
Lisa Shevenell, Research Hydrogeologist Emeritus,
Joseph V. Tingley, Research Geologist Emeritus,


September 2022