Subpage Banner

Staff Directory

Closure of NBMG/GBSSRL until further notice
As part of the University of Nevada’s effort to prevent the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19), and in compliance with the extension of Gov. Sisolak's "Stay at Home" order, our Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology Publication Sales and Information Office located at the Great Basin Science Sample and Records Library (GBSSRL) at 2175 Raggio Parkway in Reno will be closed to walk-in business until further notice. The Geological Society of Nevada Office in our building will also be closed. NBMG offices on the main UNR campus are also closed. Click for additional details regarding NBMG services and access to GBSSRL.

Director's Office/Administration

James E. Faulds, Director and State Geologist, jfaulds@unr.edu, 775-682-6650

Lora R. Robb, Business Manager, lorarobb@unr.edu, 775-682-8762
  Candice Vivien, Administrative Assistant, ctowell@unr.edu, 775-682-8746

 

Publication Sales and Information

nbmg@unr.edu, 775-682-8766
If you need an immediate response, please call.

David Davis, Geologic Information Specialist, ddavis@unr.edu, 775-682-8767
Bret Pecoraro, Development Technician, pecoraro@unr.edu, 775-682-8775
Charlotte Stock, Sales Manager, cstock@unr.edu, 775-682-8766

 

Economic Geology, Geologic Mapping, and Geologic Framework

Mike Darin, Assistant Professor-Structural Geologist, mdarin@unr.edu, 775-682-8751
James E. Faulds
, Professor, jfaulds@unr.edu, 775-682-6650
Matthieu Harlaux, Assistant Professor-Economic Geologist, mharlaux@unr.edu, 775-682-8752
John Muntean, Associate Professor-Research Economic Geologist, munteanj@unr.edu,775-682-8748
Mike Ressel, Assistant Professor-Economic Geologist, mressel@unr.edu, 775-682-7844
Andrew Zuza, Assistant Professor-Structural Geologist, azuza@unr.edu, 775-784-1446

 

Geologic Hazards and Engineering Geology

Seth Dee, Geologic Mapping Specialist, sdee@unr.edu, 775-682-7704
Craig M. dePolo, Research Geologist, cdepolo@unr.edu, 775-682-8770
Rich Koehler, Assistant Professor, rkoehler@unr.edu, 775-682-8763

 

Nevada Geodetic Laboratory

Geoffrey Blewitt, Research Professor, gblewitt@unr.edu, 775-682-8778
William C. Hammond, Research Professor, whammond@unr.edu, 775-784-6436
Corné W. Kreemer, Research Professor, kreemer@unr.edu, 775-682-8780

 

Great Basin Center for Geothermal Energy

Bridget Ayling, Associate Professor, bayling@unr.edu, 775-682-8768
  Rozena Brecke, Administrative Assistant, rbrecke@unr.edu, 775-682-8855
  Cary Lindsey, Postdoctoral Scholar, caryl@unr.edu, 775-682-8149
  Eli Mlawsky, GBCGE Geoscience Data Manager, emlawsky@unr.edu

 

Ralph J. Roberts Center for Research in Economic Geology

John Muntean, Associate Professor-Research Economic Geologist, munteanj@unr.edu,775-682-8748

 

Cartography, GIS, Web, and Publication Support

Jennifer Vlcan, Cartographic/GIS Manager, mauldin@unr.edu, 775-682-8759
  Irene Edgerton, Cartographer/GIS Specialist, iseelye@unr.edu, 775-682-6338
  Rachel Micander, Analyst - GIS and Cartography, rmicander@unr.edu, 775-682-6351

 

Data Management

Emily O'Dean, Geoscience Data Manager, eodean@unr.edu

 

Graduate Students

Advised by Bridget Ayling
  Kurt Kraal, Graduate Student, MS, kokraal@nevada.unr.edu

Advised by Jim Faulds
  Nolan Dellerman, Graduate Student, ndellerman@unr.edu
  Connor Smith, Graduate Student

Advised by Bill Hammond
  Justine Overacker, Graduate Student, PhD, justine.overacker@gmail.com
  Aren Crandall-Bear, Graduate Student, PhD, arencrandallbear@gmail.com

Advised by Rich Koehler
  Conni De Masi, Graduate Student, PhD, connidemasi@nevada.unr.edu

Advised by Corné Kreemer
  Zachary Young, Graduate Student, PhD, zyoung@nevada.unr.edu
  Nina Miller, Graduate Student, PhD

Advised by John Muntean
  Nick Hillemeyer, Graduate Student, MS, nhillemeyer@email.arizona.edu
  Sara Castro Holden, Graduate Student
  Daniel Chafetz, Graduate Student
  Sean Ingersoll, Graduate Student, MS
  Robert Johnson, Graduate Student, MS, rdjohnson987@gmail.com
  Sergey Konyshev, Graduate Student, PhD, skonyshev@nevada.unr.edu
  Neil Mankins, Graduate Student
  Justin Milliard, Graduate Student
  
Steven O'Connell, Graduate Student
  Luke Schranz, Graduate Student, MS
  Robert Selwood, Graduate Student, MS, rselwood@nevada.unr.edu
  Sarah Shapley, Graduate Student, MS
  Christian Thomas, Graduate Student, MS

Advised by Mike Ressel
  Elizabeth Hollingsworth, Graduate Student, PhD, hollingsworther@gmail.com
  James Ingraffia, Graduate Student, MS, ingraffiajames@gmail.com
  Curtis Johnson, Graduate Student, PhD, curtisj@nevada.unr.edu
  Ajeet Milliard, Graduate Student, PhD, jajeetk@gmail.com

Advised by Andrew Zuza
Drew Levy, Graduate Student, PhD, drewlevy@nevada.unr.edu
Angie Rodriguez, Graduate Student, MS, arod@nevada.unr.edu
Mike Say, Graduate Student, MS, msay@nevada.unr.edu

 

Adjunct and Emeritus Faculty

Adjunct Faculty:
Mark Coolbaugh, Adjunct Research Assistant Professor, mfc@unr.edu, 775-337-1545
Nick Hinz, Adjunct Faculty, nhinz@unr.edu

Emeritus Faculty:
John W. Bell, Professor Emeritus, jbell@unr.edu
Stephen B. Castor
, Research Geologist Emeritus, scastor@unr.edu, 775-682-8766
Larry J. Garside, Research Geologist Emeritus, lgarside@unr.edu, 775-784-6693
Christopher D. Henry, Research Geologist, chenry@unr.edu, 775-682-8753
Liang-Chi Hsu, Research Mineralogist Emeritus, lihsu@unr.edu
Daphne D. LaPointe, Research Geologist Emeritus, dlapoint@unr.edu, 775-682-8772
Paul Lechler, Chief Geochemist Emeritus, plechler@unr.edu
Jonathan G. Price, State Geologist Emeritus, jprice@unr.edu, 775-682-8766
Alan R. Ramelli, Research Geologist Emeritus, ramelli@unr.edu
Lisa Shevenell, Research Hydrogeologist Emeritus, lisaas@unr.edu
Joseph V. Tingley, Research Geologist Emeritus, jtingley@unr.edu

 

April 2020