Staff Directory

Closure of NBMG/GBSSRL until further notice
As part of the University of Nevada’s effort to prevent the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19), and in compliance with the extension of Gov. Sisolak's "Stay at Home" order, our Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology Publication Sales and Information Office located at the Great Basin Science Sample and Records Library (GBSSRL) at 2175 Raggio Parkway in Reno will be closed to walk-in business until further notice. The Geological Society of Nevada Office in our building will also be closed. NBMG offices on the main UNR campus are also closed. Click for additional details regarding NBMG services and access to GBSSRL.

Director's Office/Administration

James E. Faulds, Director and State Geologist, jfaulds@unr.edu, 775-682-6650

Lora R. Robb, Business Manager, lorarobb@unr.edu, 775-682-8762
Rozena Brecke, Administrative Assistant, rbrecke@unr.edu, 775-682-8855

 

Great Basin Science Sample and Records Library

Publication Sales and Information

nbmg@unr.edu, 775-682-8766
If you need an immediate response, please call.

David Davis, Geologic Information Specialist, ddavis@unr.edu, 775-682-8767
Emily O'Dean, Geoscience Data Manager and GBSSRL Manager, eodean@unr.edu, 775-682-9780
Bret Pecoraro, Development Technician, pecoraro@unr.edu, 775-682-8775
Charlotte Stock, Sales Manager, cstock@unr.edu, 775-682-8766

 

Economic Geology, Geologic Mapping, and Geologic Framework

Mike Darin, Assistant Professor-Structural Geologist, mdarin@unr.edu, 775-682-8751
James E. Faulds
, Professor, jfaulds@unr.edu, 775-682-6650
Matthieu Harlaux, Assistant Professor-Economic Geologist, mharlaux@unr.edu, 775-682-8752
Christopher D. Henry, Research Geologist Emeritus, chenry@unr.edu, 775-682-8753
Carolina Muñoz-Saez, Assistant Professor-Economic Geologist, cmunozsaez@unr.edu, 775-682-7844
John Muntean, Associate Professor-Research Economic Geologist, munteanj@unr.edu,775-682-8748
Andrew Zuza, Assistant Professor-Structural Geologist, azuza@unr.edu, 775-784-1446

 

Geologic Hazards and Engineering Geology

Seth Dee, Geologic Mapping Specialist, sdee@unr.edu, 775-682-7704
Craig M. dePolo, Research Geologist, cdepolo@unr.edu, 775-682-8770
Rich Koehler, Assistant Professor, rkoehler@unr.edu, 775-682-8763

 

Nevada Geodetic Laboratory

Geoffrey Blewitt, Research Professor, gblewitt@unr.edu, 775-682-8778
William C. Hammond, Research Professor, whammond@unr.edu, 775-784-6436
Corné W. Kreemer, Research Professor, kreemer@unr.edu, 775-682-8780

 

Great Basin Center for Geothermal Energy

Bridget Ayling, Associate Professor, bayling@unr.edu, 775-682-8768
Rozena Brecke, Administrative Assistant, rbrecke@unr.edu, 775-682-8855
Eli Mlawsky, GBCGE Geoscience Data Manager, emlawsky@unr.edu

 

Cartography, GIS, Web, and Publication Support

Jennifer Vlcan, Cartographic/GIS Manager, mauldin@unr.edu, 775-682-8759
Christina Clack, Graphic Designer, cclack@unr.edu, 775-682-6346
Irene Edgerton, Cartographer/GIS Specialist, iseelye@unr.edu, 775-682-6338
Rachel Micander, Analyst - GIS and Cartography, rmicander@unr.edu, 775-682-6351

 

Graduate Students

Advised by Bridget Ayling
Kurt Kraal, Graduate Student, MS, kokraal@nevada.unr.edu

Advised by Jim Faulds
Nolan Dellerman, Graduate Student, ndellerman@unr.edu
Connor Smith, Graduate Student, connormsmith@nevada.unr.edu

Advised by Bill Hammond
Justine Overacker, Graduate Student, PhD, justine.overacker@gmail.com
Aren Crandall-Bear, Graduate Student, PhD, arencrandallbear@gmail.com

Advised by Rich Koehler
Conni De Masi, Graduate Student, PhD, connidemasi@nevada.unr.edu

Advised by Corné Kreemer
Zachary Young, Graduate Student, PhD, zyoung@nevada.unr.edu
  Nina Miller, Graduate Student, PhD, ninamiller20@gmail.com

Advised by John Muntean
Nick Hillemeyer, Graduate Student, MS, nhillemeyer@email.arizona.edu
  Sara Castro Holden, Graduate Student
Daniel Chafetz, Graduate Student
Elizabeth Hollingsworth, Graduate Student, PhD, hollingsworther@gmail.com
Alexander Holmwood, Graduate Student, MS
Sean Ingersoll, Graduate Student, MS
Neil Mankins, Graduate Student
Grant McKnight, Graduate Student, MS
Steven O'Connell, Graduate Student
Atticus Proctor, Graduate Student, MS
Luke Schranz, Graduate Student, MS
Sarah Shapley, Graduate Student, MS
Christian Thomas, Graduate Student, MS

Advised by Andrew Zuza
Drew Levy, Graduate Student, PhD, drewlevy@nevada.unr.edu
Angie Rodriguez, Graduate Student, MS, arod@nevada.unr.edu

 

Adjunct and Emeritus Faculty

Adjunct Faculty:
Mark Coolbaugh, Adjunct Research Assistant Professor, mfc@unr.edu, 775-337-1545
Nick Hinz, Adjunct Faculty, nhinz@unr.edu

Emeritus Faculty:
John W. Bell, Professor Emeritus, jbell@unr.edu
Stephen B. Castor
, Research Geologist Emeritus, scastor@unr.edu, 775-682-8766
Larry J. Garside, Research Geologist Emeritus, lgarside@unr.edu, 775-784-6693
Liang-Chi Hsu, Research Mineralogist Emeritus, lihsu@unr.edu
Daphne D. LaPointe, Research Geologist Emeritus, dlapoint@unr.edu, 775-682-8772
Paul Lechler, Chief Geochemist Emeritus, plechler@unr.edu
Jonathan G. Price, State Geologist Emeritus, jprice@unr.edu, 775-682-8766
Alan R. Ramelli, Research Geologist Emeritus, ramelli@unr.edu
Lisa Shevenell, Research Hydrogeologist Emeritus, lisaas@unr.edu
Joseph V. Tingley, Research Geologist Emeritus, jtingley@unr.edu

 

April 2021